Quality Matters

Based on research-supported and published best practices, the QM Rubric is a set of 8 general standards and 41 specific standards used to evaluate the design of online and blended courses.

 The Eight General QM Standards

  1. Course Overview and Introduction – The overall design of the course is made clear to the student at the beginning of the course.
  2. Learning Objectives (Competencies) – Learning objectives are measurable and are clearly stated.
  3. Assessment and Measurement – Assessment strategies are designed to evaluate student progress by reference to stated learning objectives, to measure the effectiveness of student learning; and to be integral to the learning process.
  4. Instructional Materials – Instructional materials are sufficiently comprehensive to achieve stated course objectives and learning outcomes.
  5. Learner Interaction and Engagement – Forms of interaction incorporated in the course motivate students and promote learning.
  6. Course Technology – Course navigation and technology support student engagement and ensure access to course components.
  7. Learner Support – The course facilitates student access to institutional support services essential to student success.
  8. Accessibility – The course demonstrates a commitment to accessibility for all students.

 QM at Cheyney

The Center for Instructional Design and Innovation has purchased a subscription to Quality Matters. We are currently providing the QM rubric as a tool for course design and redesign. In additon, the QM rubric is incoporated into faculty professional development opportunities.

 Access the QM Rubric

Click here


Please email Dr. Beverly Funkhouser at bfunkhouser@cheyney.edu.