Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Planned for October 19

October 2, 2012

The 33 rd annual Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled to take place on Friday evening, October 19th, in the Ada S. Georges Dining Hall on the campus of Cheyney University.

The Class of 2012 includes: John A. Clifton (Basketball), Theodore I. Gass (Football), Joseph A. Iezzi (Athletic Trainer), Patricia Pate-Shaw (Basketball & Volleyball), Marilyn Townsend (Tennis), and Wanda Williams(Basketball).

Tickets may be purchased for $ 45.00 by checks made payable to: Cheyney Athletic Hall of Fame. The mailing address is: Post Office Box 189, Cheyney, PA 19319-0200. The event is expected to be sold out.

A Community Service Award is also being presented to those that have actively supported Cheyney University Athletics and the Cheyney community through the years. This year’s recipient is The Cheyney University “C” Club.

Members of last year’s class are expected to be present for support and to receive their portraits. The evening will begin at 6 pm with light refreshments and the opportunity to meet the 2012 inductees. The formal banquet program will commence at 7:00 pm.

Founded on October 19, 1979, the Athletic Hall of Fame serves to preserve and promote the history of the Cheyney University athletic teams and those athletes who performed and achieved at an outstanding level.