Cheyney University Annual Honors and Awards Convocation Set for April 11

March 22, 2013

Cheyney University will celebrate academic excellence at the Annual Honors and Awards Convocation on Thursday, April 11, 2013 at 6:00 PM in the Marian Anderson Auditorium.  The entire campus community and public are invited to attend the event and the reception afterwards.

The Cheyney University Honors and Awards Convocation is an annual event designated to celebrate the accomplishments and ongoing academic excellence of Cheyney University students and faculty. This formal academic convocation includes participation from members across the campus community.  Students are recognized for receiving awards, including Dean’s List distinction, Academic Excellence, the President’s Award, the Provost’s Award, membership in the Keystone Honors Academy, membership in national honors societies, and several other departmental awards.
All members of the campus community are invited to attend, including faculty, all student honorees, families and friends.  Faculty are asked to dress in academic regalia. The program is approximately two hours long.  Light refreshments are served at a reception following the program.  Participants are encouraged to eat dinner beforehand.
Students should check the lists of honorees (on the CU website) to determine if they will be recognized at the Convocation.  Letters of invitation have been sent to home addresses as well. Students will receive awards during the program. Honorees should arrive in Marian Anderson between 5:00 and 5:30 PM on April 11.  Guests should plan to arrive at 5:45.  Faculty may robe in the faculty lounge. Honorees will be invited on stage; please plan to dress appropriately for the convocation (business dress).
Student honorees include
Ali-Zaidi Nominee for Academic Excellence - Ashley Benjamin
Provost’s Award for Leadership  - TBA
President’s Award for Academic Excellence
Kenneth Allen
Angelitta Anderson
Ebosele Ayewoh
Patricia Bell
Nichel Bryant
Tina-Marie Cole
Jasmine Edwards
Travonya Kenly
Tiana Kirby
Kamaria Rawlings
Ryan Roberts
Dean’s List and Academic Award Recipients
Please address any questions to Dr. Tara Kent, Dean of the Keystone Honors Academy (; 610-399-2386).