Third Biennial FMM Fashion Entrepreneurship Expo Votes Are In

May 18, 2012

Professor Vanessa Brantley recently announced the results of the 3rd Biennial FMM Fashion Entrepreneurship Expo. "On behalf of the FMM Program at Cheyney University of PA, I would like to thank you for attending the May 1st and May 3rd Expos.  Your participation was pertinent to the success of the event.  This year’s record attendance was partially due to your efforts in making the expo an exciting and highly interactive event. In taking time to attend, you motivated the students to achieve at the highest level, which in turn rendered an extremely close vote.  When I saw the final count of votes separating the 1st and 2nd place winners by 1 or 2 points, I knew how well the FMM majors had done on their retail store concepts."

Showcased at the two-day event were FMM entrepreneurs Lindsey Johnson-Daniel, Te’Ana Knowles (Transform…Her), Latasha Lamont (Baby on Board), Janekia Lowe-Brown (Va-Va Voom!), Domonique Morris (D Morris), Ryann Qualls (Mommy & Me), and Shayne Witherspoon (Encounter).  The showcase was made possible with help from fellow FMM majors: Cori Ray, Sam Prather, Janekia Lowe-Brown, Shakia Canty, Kamia Jackson and Lindsey Johnson-Daniel. 

The Attendees Choice Winners:
1st Place-Domonique Morris with the retail concept, D. Morris
2nd Place-Lindsey Johnson-Daniel with the retail concept, Spectacular!
3rd Place-Ryann Qualls with the retail concept, Mommy  & Me

The Judges Choice Winners:
1st Place-Shayne Witherspoon with the retail concept, Encounter
2nd Place-Domonique Morris with the retail concept, D. Morris
3rd Place-Janekia Lowe-Brown with the retail concept, Va Va Voom!

Participating judges were from Burlington Coat Factory (Betty Ann Marrone), Neiman-Marcus (Randall Little and Shirleen Beard) and PNC Bank (Heather Tenaglia-Brenner and Jack Wolf) presented monetary and gift awards.  Others judges included photographer Dimitra Minter, hair and fashion stylist, Jamina Whitehead and FMM alums, Ebony Burton, Monica Draine, Sydney Fleming, Shaun Guess, Monique Harris, Daryl McCoy and Kristen Miller. 

Dr. Patricia Montenegro and Mr. Curtis Word won prizes in a special drawing for VIP guests.   The date for the 3rd Biennial FMM Fashion Show in December 2012 will be announced shortly.