STUDENT GOVERNMENT Association (SGA)

The Student Government Association, (SGA) is the official student “voice” regarding policies that govern the general welfare of students. Every student attending Cheyney University is required to pay a student activities fee that entitles students to full membership in the SGA. Student activity fees enable the SGA to initiate and coordinate programs, activities, and services that assist the university in making an impact on students’ academic lives and overall development. Each year, activities are provided to enhance students’ cultural, social, and political awareness. Recreation and leisure time activities are also provided to give students opportunities to participate in leadership training and personal development seminars.

More than 30 clubs, organizations, and co curricular activities are eligible to be funded through the SGA. These clubs and organizations have evolved to satisfy the widely diverse interests and needs of students. Co-curricular activities are an important part of each student’s education and should be chosen with care. Some broaden one’s outlook and interests, while others serve to develop self-assurance and confidence, both socially and professionally. All activities, however, are designed to promote respect for the uniqueness and rights of the individual, as well as respect for opportunities to exercise those rights within a democratic, social setting.

SGA Directory

Here is a list of all SGA Members and their contact information for the website directory.
Our office location is Marcus Foster Alumni Student Union Room 217.

2015-2016 SGA Officers

President Cree Encarnacion cencarnacion42@wolf.cheyney.edu
Vice President Chanelle Brawner cbrawner@wolf.cheyney.edu
Treasurer Courtney Stewart cstewart48@wolf.cheyney.edu
Governor of Social and Cultural Affairs Ryan Wells rwells@wolf.cheyney.edu
Corresponding Secretary Cara Fantini cfantini73@wolf.cheyney.edu
Recording Secretary Comfort Effi ceffi@wolf.cheyney.edu
Parliamentarian Chanda Showell cshowell23@ wolf.cheyney.edu


Residence Council Members

Marizsha Brown mbrown14@wolf.cheyney.edu
Aleah Hollis ahollis41@wolf.cheyney.edu
Isaiah Stratton istratton80@wolf.cheyney.edu
Brittany Lowman blowman92@wolf.cheyney.edu


Advisors

Herbert Black Professor, Recreation/Leisure Management hblack@cheyney.edu  
Zakiya Newton Professor, Recreation/Leisure Management znewton@cheyney.edu  


Ex-Officio Members to the SGA

Ms. Sharon Thorn Director, Student Activities 610 399-2251 sthorn@cheyney.edu
Mr. Lamott Moore Director, Student Activities 610 399-2301 lmoore@cheyney.edu
Ms. Rita Burke Student Activities 610 399-2250 rburke@cheyney.edu