Quality Matters

Based on research-supported and published best practices, the QM Rubric is a set of 8 general standards and 41 specific standards used to evaluate the design of online and blended courses.

 The Eight General QM Standards

  1. Course Overview and Introduction – The overall design of the course is made clear to the student at the beginning of the course.
  2. Learning Objectives (Competencies) – Learning objectives are measurable and are clearly stated.
  3. Assessment and Measurement – Assessment strategies are designed to evaluate student progress by reference to stated learning objectives, to measure the effectiveness of student learning; and to be integral to the learning process.
  4. Instructional Materials – Instructional materials are sufficiently comprehensive to achieve stated course objectives and learning outcomes.
  5. Learner Interaction and Engagement – Forms of interaction incorporated in the course motivate students and promote learning.
  6. Course Technology – Course navigation and technology support student engagement and ensure access to course components.
  7. Learner Support – The course facilitates student access to institutional support services essential to student success.
  8. Accessibility – The course demonstrates a commitment to accessibility for all students.

 QM at Cheyney

The Center for Instructional Design and Innovation has purchased a subscription to Quality Matters. We are currently providing the QM rubric as a tool for course design and redesign. In additon, the QM rubric is incoporated into faculty professional development opportunities.

 Access the QM Rubric

Click here


Email DistanceEd@cheyney.edu.